No New Oil and Gas

On 31st July 2023 the UK government pledged to grant 100 new licences for oil and gas development in the North Sea. As Mary Church from Friends of the Earth Scotland said: “Burning oil and gas is driving extreme weather and killing people on every continent yet Rishi Sunak is gleefully encouraging the arsonists to go and put more fuel on the fire.”

Prime Minister Rishi Sunak claims that Carbon Capture and Storage (CCS) can reduce the climate impact of fossil fuels, but it is not proven to work. In effect the government will be giving more of our money to oil and gas companies, instead of improving our lives by insulating our homes and enhancing public transport. This is yet another example of Greenwashing to allow these companies to carry on as normal.

Demand your representatives oppose this policy

Please contact your MP and MSP to insist they oppose Sunak’s reckless and immoral policy. To help, we have prepared a sample letter you can use – but it will have even more impact if you are able to personalize it to reflect your own voice and priorities.

Find your MP / MSP below and click on their email address to open the letter in your email app ready for you to customize and send. Please remember to add your own name at the bottom of the letter.

If the email link doesn’t work use the addresses to send the sample letter. If your representatives aren’t listed, find your MP here, and your MSP here.

Contact your MP

Edinburgh North & LeithDeidre Brock (SNP)
Edinburgh South WestJoanna Cherry (SNP)
Edinburgh WestChristine Jardine (LD)
Edinburgh SouthIan Murray (Lab)
Edinburgh EastTommy Sheppard (SNP)
East LothianKenny MacAskill (Alba)
MidlothianOwen Thompson (SNP)
LivingstonHannah Bardell (SNP)
Linlithgow & East FalkirkMartyn Day (SNP)

Contact your MSP

Lothian Region

Edinburgh CentralAngus Robertson (SNP)
Edinburgh Northern & LeithBen Macpherson (SNP)
Edinburgh SouthernDaniel Johnson (Lab)
Edinburgh PentlandsGordon MacDonald (SNP)
Edinburgh WesternAlex Cole-Hamilton (LD)
Edinburgh EasternAsh Regan (SNP)
Midlothian North & MusselburghColin Beattie (SNP)
Almond ValleyAngela Constance (SNP)
LinlithgowFiona Hyslop (SNP)

South Scotland Region

East LothianPaul McLennan (SNP)
Midlothian South, Tweeddale and LauderdalChristine Grahame (SNP)